Hand-built Sculpture Disaster

LeeAnets

I've been doing clay for a while now, so not a total noob, but have had my biggest disaster in clay to date. I have to admit I have not done a ton of hand building in the last few years, but have done enough to know the basics. 

I was hand-building some larger pieces. Scored and slip attachments to sides. (The same way I have scored for ten years without having issues.) I dried them very slowly under plastic, as I live in northern Arizona and things dry way too fast here. 

They were built with Laguna's Rod's Bod. I built each piece one at a time, during the day, so the slabs would be close to the same moisture. I throw out my slabs for each piece all at one time, by hand, and finish by rolling them between dow rods to get thickness relatively close. I kept extra slabs covered while working on the main piece.

The only thing I can think that may have had an effect was that I let these dry in my garage. (We just moved into this house, so I consider this a variable I haven't dealt with before. In my last house, I dried my hand built items inside the house, and had no issues.) My garage is not heated, but attached to the house, so it never got below 45 degrees F. But the temperature ranged from probably 70 F in the day to 45 F at night. It never fell below freezing, though.

Everything looked fine, but when they were bisque fired, most of the attachments fell off. (see photos)

Could the range of drying temperature have cause my problem?

I am racking my brain trying to figure this out. Please help...

IMG_9729b.jpg

IMG_9730b.jpg

IMG_9728.jpg

When the bond is not right they can jump off.

Reasons -here are a few

slabs are different moisture content- Slabs are to dry to work well. my guess is this one

wrap them fin plastic for at least a day to even out next time

not enough slip  used or  enough pressure when joining

Not enough time wraped up to equalize moisture content

bisque fired to fast ( I doubt this one)