When do you stop wanting to barf?

The 3 pottery posts I've shared on facebook over the weekend have led to people asking me if they can buy the work.  I want to sell my work, because I'm making a lot, but this part is new to me. I've been throwing for only a few years, built my home studio last summer, and mostly gift my work to my friends and family. 

Honestly, naming a price and telling someone makes me want to barf. Did this happen to other people when they started selling their work? Does it go away? Is this just imposter syndrome now applied to pottery? Ahhhhhh!

Imposter syndrome has been known to all of us, I think. I still get it. You have to be very careful not to compare yourself to others. There lies madness. Keep your head down and keep making the things. 

But maybe that feeling in your stomach is excitement! Congratulations! You sold a thing after making the thing! It’s ok to feel good about that. And it’s necessary to celebrate your wins if you want to keep going. 

Don’t be afraid to charge fair value for what you make, and make sure there’s money in there for shipping. 

18 minutes ago, Callie Beller Diesel said:

Imposter syndrome has been known to all of us, I think. I still get it. You have to be very careful not to compare yourself to others. There lies madness. Keep your head down and keep making the things. 

But maybe that feeling in your stomach is excitement! Congratulations! You sold a thing after making the thing! It’s ok to feel good about that. And it’s necessary to celebrate your wins if you want to keep going. 

Don’t be afraid to charge fair value for what you make, and make sure there’s money in there for shipping. 

Thanks Callie, I had a sibling (who has purchased more pottery than anyone I know) help me price things out quickly because I don't seem to be capable of setting those initial fair market values!