Help picking out a wheel

CWS

A little background. I am new to this,  just finishing my first class, totally hooked, and planned on waiting a year to start investing in a home studio.  My local school has shut down in the midst of the Corona Virus pandemic with no end in sight.  All work and supplies are being cleaned out over the next few days by appointment.  I really don't want to wait months to throw again, so I think my timeline has moved up.  My school has a dozen Brent C's, a CXC, and a few Shimpos. I only use the Brents. They are old and the pedals have terrible modulation, so the Shimpos are always occupied. Supposedly the pedals are exponentially better, as they are newer.

-I had planned on getting a Brent CXC, but had some more questions and thoughts since I have begun looking more seriously. I like the warranty, want something with good customer service. I want something I can work on myself.  I want a decent amount of power as I hope to graduate to primarily throwing larger forms as I progress.  The splash pan seems rugged and stands up to coming on and off for cleaning many times a day, seven days a week, for years. I wish the pan was a little bigger.  I have no idea what a new proper pedal feels like on one. I fit well on the Brent.

-The Shimpo owners that have reviewed online seem to love them for the quiet. I like the idea of the freewheel acting as a banding wheel. The pan seems the flimsiest and appears even smaller than the Brent. does the direct drive play that much difference in pedal modulation?