Covid -19 Cleanliness

Hi!  I am a newbie here.  I have been teaching ceramics in a classroom setting for 20+ years.  This one is a first for me, and I am sure a first for many.  I was approached by my principal with a very interesting question:

Is there a way to sanitize clay to be sure covid-19 cannot reside in the slop/reclaim?

I am unsure if this is the correct area to post

this thread, please direct me to the correct forum subject area if not.

Thanks!

Jason Strickland

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply
5 minutes ago, Strickland Pottery said:

Hi!  I am a newbie here.  I have been teaching ceramics in a classroom setting for 20+ years.  This one is a first for me, and I am sure a first for many.  I was approached by my principal with a very interesting question:

Is there a way to sanitize clay to be sure covid-19 cannot reside in the slop/reclaim?

I am unsure if this is the correct area to pose this thread, please direct me to the correct forum subject area if not.

Thanks!

Jason Strickland

There are speculative ways, the most interesting to me was to raise the clay to 140 degrees or so. (Need to verify temperature but it was fairly low and below boiling).  My thought was for classroom use, 1-2# balls of clay could be heated the night before for next days use. They would need to be heated and maintained  at the target temperature without drying them out so maybe in an enclosed container or individually wrapped in plastic / bag. Working through this there might be a decent microwave solution and of course there would need to be time for the clay to cool without losing its moisture as well. Again only interesting to me, there were a barrage of reasons not to or folks felt it was not needed etc.....

You might be the first to develop one!