COVID-19 & Recycled Clay

I am a high school teacher and the thought of going back to school in the fall has presented a lot of questions.  The clay in my classroom is touched by SO MANY throughout the day.  I am wondering how to "disinfect" the clay so that we can keep everyone safe while preserving all of the amazing properties that clay has.  Is adding bleach safe for the clay?  Lysol?  Isopropyl Alcohol?  Do I allow clay to dry completely (allowing the virus to die) and then recycle?  I want to be prepared when Risk Management starts making suggestions to my classroom practices.

Whatever you put in it also has to be safe for skin.  I can handle clay, but need to wear gloves when glazing as it dries my hands too much.  I wear gloves for general domestic stuff - washing up, cleaning bathroom etc,.  I would not touch clay if i thought bleach had been added to it.

No other suggestions, sorry, but it's something we might all have to consider in community studios - including me.   Arrrgh, will it ever end!

I think adding a bit of soap to throwing/mixer water should take care of the clay - never tried it, though, might be too bubbly? 

And of course wiping down counter and wheel areas after working. 

Be sure students stay in their own demarcated work areas and wear masks.

Sounds like this  would be a question for Dr Faucci, or a science teacher. 

1 hour ago, ronfire said:

Wonder how long the virus will live in clay or water? Might not be very long.

I think this may be the case as clay does not hold other things for long as well. Never heard of someone getting a cold or pneumonia from clay. Good question that needs more research. If you do add anything make it the least nasty as possible -a little soap will be ok-vinegar is a better additive as it helps clay as well.Its a bit acidic as well which may be enough-it helps with the clay aging as well

welcome to the forum