Who can tell me that material?

leopold

Hi Everyone,

I'm a freshman for throwing pottery, trying to collect all essential tools for my daily work.

I have met some guys use the tool on that photos in some video to clean the rim, and got a great effect.

I have no idea what it's and how to buy it.

Thanks for any help.

Leopold

O1CN011oD42GG2H1GJzSP_!!803975190.png

look for chamois at an auto parts area in a store-they use them fro cleaning up the outside of cars-cut a strip from a larger piece. Much cheaper than buying a pottery one.

The one in photo is screwed to a cork so it floats in your water bucket -very easy to recreate yourself with a cork and a screw.

I prefer real chamois to the fake stuff. You can get it at the auto parts store or Ace Hardware. A full piece is way more than you need, but you can always sell off strips to your classmates to cover the cost. You can also get corks and screws at Ace. Without the cork it's really easy to lose the chamois. We used to just clamp the chamois under the lid of a film canister, but it's hard to find those nowadays.

1 hour ago, neilestrick said:

I prefer real chamois to the fake stuff. You can get it at the auto parts store or Ace Hardware. A full piece is way ore than you need, but you can always sell off strips to your classmates to cover the cost. You can also get corks and screws at Ace. Without the cork it's really easy to lose the chamois. We used to just clamp the chamois under the lid of a film canister, but it's hard to find those nowadays.

A slip saturated chamois is like a needle in a haystack.

And you are spot on, regarding the film canisters.  I still do "Traditional" Photography, with my Photo classes, but I have reusable cassettes, that I fill with a bulk roll.  So I don't even have many of the canisters.