How long is too long for Greenware

So I’m a newbie. We purchased a kiln and wheel, but the kiln still isn’t set up. At this point we’re debating moving to another city and purchasing a home there within about a year. To be honest, I’m in no rush to install and set up my kiln where we are now, and I’d rather just save my pennies and set it up at the new house. Which brings me to my question....

How long is too long to let your greenware (I think that’s what it’s called), sit around before firing? I’m under the impression that the danger when firing is in the pot being wet, not too dry. So if I create some things and don’t fire them for say a year (or longer)... what do you think? 

As long as you keep good notes and know exactly what you knew when you trimmed the pot then time is no limit.  

However know that bone dried greenware is the most fragile state of clay to be moving around. Pack well but be prepared to lose some stuff. 

The other thing is sometimes you create cracks from too much handling that you might not see till after the glaze firing. So watch out for the ping after bisque. If you hear a thud or dull sound then either throw out or use it for glaze test.  

I have know people who have fired after 5 years.  But they hadn’t moved and they had notes.  

However, understand that “dry” doesn’t necessarily mean leaving a pot just sitting out on a shelf somewhere.  If you live in a climate that cycles through wet and dry seasons, and  cold and hot temperatures extremes, humidity levels in the air can also move up and down substantially over time.   This affects things made out of clay which have not yet been fired.  Dry pots absorb and desorb lots of water from humidity in the air, through the small channels in and around clay particles.  Unfired clay effectively inhales and exhales humidity over time.  Think of it a bit like a rigid sponge.