White chunks in glazed ware

Arimajol

Hi!  I just unloaded a kiln and I have that sinking feeling we all know.  I had mixed glaze prior to this firing, the same glaze I've been using for about 5 years.  There are small white bits in the glaze, I'm fairly certain that it is an undissolved ingredient.  It is uniformly distributed across most of the pots in the kiln. 

I seived the glaze 3 times in mixing.  The seive is mesh 60, but was sold as a glaze seive.  Now I'm seeing that glaze should be mixed with a 80-100 mesh seive.  That's frustrating.  I haven't had this problem before.  

Two questions:

1. How can I keep this from happening again and salvage the bucket of glaze I just made with crazy expensive tin oxide?  Should I get a different seive?

2.  Anything I can do to salvage this kiln load?  Is it a bad idea to just sand down the bits?  I can't provide them to customers like this.  

Thank you!

It looks to me that they are larger than sieve size, but not certain of that. First thing I would do is to re-sieve the glaze to see if you get any particles in the sieve. Secondly, even though the glaze looks to have gone on evenly, did you wash the pot before hand? Did the pot set out before glaze firing?  Was this on a lower shelf that had a shelf above with kiln wash on the bottom side? Had to ask.  Is this in a bowl?

best,

Pres

I’m leaning towards loading error, not glaze ingredient. That looks like shelf wash crumbs. They’re dry and refractory, and sitting on top of the glaze, not coming up from within it.

If it is shelf wash, yes, you can try grinding them down a bit, dabbing a little bit of glaze back on and re-fire. And be extra careful to give the shelves a light brush with your hand before you place them.

34 minutes ago, Callie Beller Diesel said:

I’m leaning towards loading error, not glaze ingredient. That looks like shelf wash crumbs. They’re dry and refractory, and sitting on top of the glaze, not coming up from within it.