• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 1Artsygirl

1Artsygirl

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 18 June 2012 - 02:53 AM

I am new at making my own glaze from scratch and I am confused in regard to the mathematics of percentages/grams of materials needed. (EXAMPLE of 2 "fake" glazes )..
EXAMPLE 1
10 percent ferro frit.
30 percent epk,
60 percent feldspar.
NOT A REAL RECIPE... ok so I get that I need to measure out each ingredient to make a total of 100 percent. Well what if I want to make 5 gallons of the glaze.. how to I compute it into gallons needed?? And on top of that what if the recipe calls for extra ingredient's after 100% of whats needed is computed.

EXAMPLE 2
10 grams ferro frit,
30 grams epk,
60 grams feldspar. Equaling 100.

Well 100 grams does not make very much at all. I need buckets. Obviously I will make the small amounts first so I can test tile everything but when I'm ready ( I'm past ready), I will need enough to do over 100 pots in various colors..etc..

In short, what if I want a 5 gallon bucket of the glaze. Maybe I should request for totals of a 1 gallon bucket. I can just do the ingredients x 5 to get 5 gallons. I do have a very nice triple beam scale that I got recently. I feel pretty stupid asking the community for the help but I have been looking for a week now on how to figure this out..no answers so here I am.
Kind regards and thank's for any input.
( I knowwwww that I'm not "stupid" , I'm just a middle aged gal who hasn't used her math skills since Jr College :)

#2 justanassembler

justanassembler

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 248 posts
  • LocationBaton Rouge, LA

Posted 18 June 2012 - 03:28 AM

To answer your first questions, most glazes are calculated @ 100% minus their colorants--so your ingredients will equal 100% not counting colorants which are usually listed last on a recipe and will be small percentages of the total of most glazes.