Plaster Bats? Need Advice.

I am a hobbyist thrower on the wheel and I tried the Hydrostone bats but I had a couple of problems with them .First of all they wiggle on my pins over time and chatter which makes things harder. However more seriously I have problems throwing on them because they suck in so much water that I cant keep the bottom of my hands lubricated. I am constantly dragging against the dry stone and the grog in my clay acts like sandpaper on my hands. Furthermore when I am throwing the bottom half inch of my clay gets deprived of water in seconds and I cant push in on the base without a lot of force and even then the clay doesn't want to move. Finally, the fact that the bat is 3/4 of an inch higher than the wheel head sort of messes with this hobbyist. On the other hand I am sick of Masonite bats (which warp in 2 days), Plastic bats (which don't hold the clay to the wheel head well) and so on. So some questions. 

1. Can you give me tips on throwing on plaster so that I don't feel like my hands are on my orbital sander and even forgetting the sand, so I can maintain some kind of lubrication and it doesn't suck all the water out of the bottom of my clay in 2 seconds. 

2. Has anyone ever used a bat system that allows me to use something like versa-bat but with plaster bats or should i just get the versa bat square and cast some plaster bats to fit?  If I cast my own the thickness of the versa bat is there any kind of reinforcement I should put in the bat fro strength? 

Thanks. 

Heres my advice

Throw a 1# ball of clay on wheel head. Center and lay this down as a flat slab on head as your are at high speed-now you have a flat slab of clay on top of wheel head. Use a fork or wood tool to put some groves into this clay pad as it spins (I'll call it a clay pad from now on)