Youtube Video Potters

Hey how about some of you guys who know who's who take a look at the youtube potters line up and throw out a few names of ones you've both heard of and respect their work.

If one makes south 20 bucks an hour it is just really, really, hard for a LOT of people to have any money at all left at the end of a month just surviving. For these guys youtube really is it regardless of whether its the best way or not. If someone is just starting out they have no idea who too listen too.

I'll start:

I mentioned Simon Leach in another thread and I have watched so many of his videos. He and his brothers, father, mother and fairly famous grandfather have been in pottery forever and he has posted tons of great instructional videos. He is a professional potter making his living from pottery as both a studio potter and workshop instructor.  

I have a few. When I make a video I am thinking of what has helped my complete beginners (0 hours of experience) work on the wheel. But making youtube less take time and the right mood to make.

I was once told about chess that grand-masters make terrible coaches. I feel this can be true in pottery too. Naturally talented potters do things without knowing why so they also have trouble showing ways to improve a shape. I had a fantastic wheel teacher and I feel her lessons have allowed me to reach pottery as well.

Guest JBaymore

There is a reason that very many educators .... (wait for it)......... study..... (wait for it)................  educational concepts as a formal part of their training.  As Matthew says above, just because someone is really good at what they do does not necessarily make them a good TEACHER of that subject.  You can learn much from such people if you are attentive and patient.... but it is not necessarily "packaged" as well as a less skilled practitioner who know the subject well might........  who REALLY knows how to TEACH.