Why my clay acts like this?

Tina01

Hi I'm Tina and just joined here, I'm a total newbie in pottery. 

I had some clay that were bought a couple of years ago, obviously they were bone dry. I  attempted to recycle them and start making something. However it didn't go well. 

The problem is  that  although the clay was wet and sticky (to wooden board and my hands), at the same time many small cracks were forming when I tend to flat it with a rollor. or making a coil out of it. 

I tried to wedge it for half an hour, adding a bit more water, but that didn't help much. small cracks all over the slab and more severe cracks around the edges.

what could be wrong with it and what should I do?

more info with pictures:

IMG_20221020_144013.jpg.985c10068ff62d50ed06e4f7f232ff85.jpg

IMG_20221020_144903.jpg.c45f3f1ff3cdd6036c3796eaf50dd8e4.jpg

IMG_20221020_145738.jpg.04e983c0107348f0c575b4598e066fa7.jpg

IMG_20221020_150242.jpg.b8d7ee033b5d645e5d2c91e839f11447.jpg

IMG_20221020_150827.jpg.1c2b0245bc34822b6944efe673da1f15.jpg

Thank you so much for helping me! 

The mold ,steel bowl  , needs to be coated with something to prevent clay from sticking to it as it dries.

Strips of damp newspaper, plastic wrap, green thick dishwashing liquid etc.

Oh! a hump mold  need to get that clay off there asap. Clay shrinks, mold doesn't

How did you wet the clay  down?

Was the clay previously thrown into pots? Can lose fine particles which make clay plastic.

Make a slurry of clay   leave for a couple of days, spread out on plaster board to dry , wedge and see if it is better.

May need some bentonite to increase plasticity.

Do you know what clay it is?

Edited by Babs

1 hour ago, Babs said:

The mold ,steel bowl  , needs to be coated with something to prevent clay from sticking to it as it dries.

Strops of damp newspaper, plastic wrap, green thick dishwashing liquid etc.

How did you wet the clay  down?