Glaze Fire Garden Mushroom

Hi, I am going to make ceramic mushrooms that are pushed into the ground.  They do not stand on their own.  How should I support these for the glaze firing so that I can glaze them with the least noticeable marks ( such as from stilts, etc.) ?  I ideally would like to glaze as close to 100% of the mushroom as possible.  I'm thinking that I would  not glaze the pointed end of the stalk and try to stand them up in the kiln, but what would work for this?   I'm a beginner and appreciate any suggestions.  Thanks in advance.

The mushrooms will have a stalk about 3/4 inch diameter and be about 10 inches long.  The caps will be slipcast and anywhere from 2 to 6 inches across.  I am going to attach the stalks once they are leather hard to the caps with slip. Thanks for the help.

I've made these before and from what I can remember, the stems were hollow and attached to the heads when leather hard. They were laid in the kiln with the edge of the head and the tapered point of the stem on waster disks.  If I had to do anything to the edge of the head, it would have been to take a grinder to smooth the edge where the glaze may have run onto the waster. My stems were hollow and if I were to do it again, I might try to make a stand out of carbon steel which has a melting point of 2600-2800 degrees F. The base would be1.5"x 1/8" with 1/4" vertical rods to slide the stems onto. The base would be in a "T" shape to provide some stability and the rods would be spaced appropriately for the heads of the shrooms. I would run some tests at your glaze temp to make sure all was stable. What cone are you glaze firing to? I believe mine were ^06 because they were painted with underglazes...