dipping glaze application weirdness

Pir

Hi, I'm new to glaze-making. While I'm just delving into making batches from scratch, I have a question about a commercial glaze that I purchased dry and added water to for dipping.

This is a Spectrum glaze called Autumn, and as you might see in the photos, it's... well, I'm not sure... collecting and dripping and drying unevenly.

The glaze measures a specific gravity of 156.  (Being a commercial glaze, I don't know the ingredients or their proportions.)

I mixed the glaze well before use. I ran a slightly damp cloth across the bisqueware (bisqued to 04) to remove dust and to prime the clay for glaze absorption.  I used dipping tongs for a 3-second in-and-out dip (longer for the tiny thin-walled bowl); after lifting out, I rotated the pot and gently shook of drips. The glaze seemed to dry quickly--and yet drips formed and ran, and then dried as visible drips.

I'll have to see how they fire. Test tiles came out great (on red clay bodies, not brown or buff), but the tiles were small and I didn't notice as much of this application ugliness.

Any ideas on what this problem is, or advice on how to fix it (if it's indeed a problem) are greatly appreciated! Thanks!

autum resize 1.jpg

autumn glaze resize 2.jpg

The fix depends.  It depends on what you want as the properties.

I personally would either wait a week and see if the glaze deflocculates itself (a lot of times this happens on its own).  Or deflocculate it myself with some darvan or sodium silicate.  This causes the glaze to dry faster by reducing the viscosity while keeping the water content the same.  

Another option is to flocculate, which would be adding a little epsom salts solution which will thicken the glaze and cause it to dry slower.  I don't like this because i hate waiting for glaze.