Hi there, 

I have Amaco Potters Choice glazes and they say that they should be fired to cone 5/6. I am very new to pottery and was wondering what this means in terms of the firing schedule in my Nabetherm kiln. I have been trying to get the effects as shown on their website but they do not look very similar! What would the different outcomes of cone 5 and 6 be? Thanks so much and really appreciate any help, lara

Hi Lara!

Your glazing results will very likely be influenced by the clay you are using.

Typically, glaze fire to bring the clay to full maturity - where sufficient temperature and time (together, "heat work") have vitrified the clay (Maturity (digitalfire.com) - and fully melt the glaze. Also typical, avoid over firing, which can cause a myriad of problems with both the clay and glaze, and under firing, which may leave the clay porous (immature) and glaze not fully melted.

Please identify the clay(s) you are using, your firing schedule, and post pictures of your glazed work as well as examples of the results you're looking for?

So much depends on the clay, thickness and size of the work, the surface of the work, how the work is bisque fired, the glaze(s) selected, how the glaze is applied, etc.

Cone chart indicates just 53F degrees (at 108F rise per hour) between cones five and six, however, a half cone can make a big difference - depends on many factors. I'm firing to cone five now after starting out shooting for cone six. Some of the clays and glazes I'm using tolerate a wider firing range - looks fine at five or six - but two of the clays I use definitely come out better firing a bit cooler and also benefit from a drop and hold.

Fahrenheit Cone Chart (clay-planet.com)

Perhaps you are looking at glaze effects that result from layering two or more glazes?

Hi there. 

Thank you SO much for all your help - I really appreciate it! 

The clay that I am using is White Stoneware PF560 (It fires 1120∞C - 1280∞C ).