Going from Eartheware to Stoneware - need tips

Hi, everyone.  I've been working with earthenware for a couple of decades now, doing mostly hand-built work and sculptures, too, around 1-2 feet tall, all on a white clay surface with underglaze and glaze finishes.  I've begun throwing bowls, etc.,  now and want to switch to a stoneware that would be compatible with all three methods of construction (sculpture, hand-building, and throwing).  However, I can't seem to find a white stoneware that fits all my needs.  Is there a way I could give it a white surface for my underglazes to look good on?   (I've attached a photo of one of my little sculptures, around a foot tall.)

I have never used stoneware and don't know much at all  about it and can't seem to find any "how-to's" on using it.   I'm not necessarily asking for a tutorial from anyone here but rather some recommendations on sources that I might be able to use to  learn as much as possible about working with stoneware, its properties, how it behaves, etc.  

Thanks in advance,

Dottie

1 sit dog sculp green b.jpg

Since you want to try out stoneware, you might try Laguna B-mix ^5. It is a white clay that I use primarily for throwing, and I've also used it for hand building and a sculpture with good success. What range are you looking to fire to?

welcome,  you might want to add another website to your search.   it is something like Cone6pots,  google that one and you will find a community of potters of all types who work at cone 6 with stoneware.  cone 6 is a very wide field with all kinds of clay that is useful for your purpose.   the difference between the groups is that this one seems to have more people who are interested in making their own glazes, physically making  kilns or other equipment and much more technical and chemistry interests than the other one.  there are many who fire porcelain and stoneware to cone 10 here.    those folks appear to mainly use commercial glazes.