How is this made?

Palmtree

Hello,

I am new at this forum, but not completely new to ceramics and pottery. I am however a complete newbie when it comes to decorating. I have glazed my work in the simplest way possible, but I have been thinking about combining my other hobby- painting- into my ceramics practice. I find painted pottery very beautiful, but I have no idea how to do it. I found some images of the work of a Norwegian artist called Dørge Berg, attached under. Does anyone have an idea of the technique that can have been used? I know that one can paint with underglazes and slips, but this looks so intricate. How is this, and delicate china-paintings done? Any tips would be very appreciated!!

AJ-17-181.jpg

l_461198219.jpg

Really? So, after bisque firing, underglaze is applied, then dried, then pattern with underglaze, fire it and transparent glaze in top and fire it again? I though this was slip, because glaze to me is very thick and not detailed. But then again, what do I know about this. Actually very little!

There is obviously a LOT of time and skill involved in decorating these pieces and underglazes would be the place to start. You say you are also a painter. With that in mind I would suggest that you start with some small items and experiment with various underglazes and patterns. You might find that you can use underglaze like watercolors. Give it a shot and let us know how things work out...

JohnnyK

That could definitely be done with underglazes. You can apply them to leather hard, bone dry, or bisque. Some brands of underglazes have a lot of binders and hardeners in them that make it difficult to get a dipping glaze to stick to well, so if you're using dipping glazes I recommend applying the underglazes to leather hard or bone dry. In the bisque firing the binders will burn out. We've seen Amaco Velvets do that. Speedball doesn't seem to be a problem.

I paint in underglaze. I use a variety of sizes of brush, including very small.