single firing, cone 6 stoneware

Hello,

I'm not a professionally trained potter -- I've been teaching myself through trial and error, and taking the odd class over the last year. I bought a used kiln and have had many adventures! Yesterday I was doing a glaze firing of some bisqued cone 6 stoneware pieces and I had a small greenware pinch pot of the same clay body that I'd forgotten to include in the bisque firing last week. I decided to glaze it as usual as an experiment to see what would happen if I skipped the bisque firing -- and then proceeded as usual for my glaze firing. The unbisqued piece appears to have come out exactly as it would have if it had been bisque fired first. It feels the same weight -- and the glazes behaved exactly the same as usual.This piece was glazed in the same glaze as a bisqued piece next to it in the kiln and their colour is identical.

So, my question is: what are the disadvantages of going straight to a glaze firing and skipping bisquing?

I can imagine that one hazard would be the effect that wet glaze could have on greenware -- especially a delicate thin piece -- there might be a risk of the clay disintegrating or cracking from the moisture. This didn't happen in this tiny experiment though (and I didn't even let it dry for long -- I glazed it at the last moment and just put it in the kiln and fired it up!)

I'd love to hear from properly trained potters about the disadvantage of simple single firing.

By the way - in case it is of interest in this matter: I have an old Duncan kiln that performs beautifully - although the kiln sitter does not work properly on a cone 6 firing (fine on cone 04 bisque firing) but I've gotten to know my kiln and it does a glaze firing in 6-7.5 hours. I watch the cones carefully and have had no problems.

Looking forward to hearing from the experts on this!

Clayshapes,