Advice For A Home Studio

Hi there!

I'm a graphic designer who just graduated from college and am now employed. I've always loved playing with clay since elementary school and have taken multiple ceramics classes in both high school and college. I'd say my understanding of the art and craft is above average, but not great. Since I've started at my new job, I have a little extra income to spend, and I've been thinking about investing in a home basement studio. Clay seems to keep calling to me over the years and I think it'd be a great tangible change from all the digital design work I do for a living. 

What do you think the minimum I could get away with for starting a simple basement home studio? I've been thinking about getting just a wheel to start out with to just practice throwing forms occasionally after work. If there was anything that I really wanted to keep and fire, I'd be able to find a way either at my college or through another resource in the city. I'm apprehensive about purchasing a kiln because of the size mostly. I don't know for certain whether or not I want to stay here, so I don't want have something so large on hand if life circumstances don't allow me to have the space for it.

As for brand of wheel, I'm most familiar with Shimpo wheels, but I've been reading on the forums here that the TS Skutt wheels are a good bang for your buck as well.  Any thoughts there? Besides a wheel, what else do you think I would need to think about realistically? I'd probably build some simple drying racks / work table. Would some sort of bucket setup work for cleaning? 

Thanks! I appreciate your advice and wisdom. 

Hi and welcome to the forum.