Question about Kiln in classroom.

Hello I am a Visual Arts Teacher and I have a question about a new electric kiln I that was placed in my classroom and where it is in proximity to my students, how close  and easily accessible it is to students. My classroom is new and an electric kiln has been placed in the corner of the room, no walls or locked door to keep the students away from the kiln. I was told there is an emergency shut off switch, that is all and to fire only at night or "off hours" and the cone size matters. Not sure but I am feeling uneasy about this and would like some advise please. There are no walls to separate the electric kiln from the students. Thoughts and advise please?

Edited by Ms. Maria

How old are the students? Are you present when they are, or do they come & go when you're not  around. Will they be firing the kiln?  Don't know what you mean about cone "size"--do you mean the  Orton system correlated with the temperature desired? Most elec. kilns fire best from low (ex. cone 04-05)to mid fire-usually around cone 5-6 (but can go higher-not likely needed in any school environment, and that wears out the elements faster).