Newbie with questions

Hi Everyone! I've been working with clay for a few years now without much instruction aside from a couple of 8 week classes about 5 years ago (has it been that long??) and youtube videos. I'm working on a wheel mostly (some handbuilding occasionally), using mid-range clays/glazes, mostly functional work. I bought the wheel 2 years ago and I play with clay mostly on weekends. I have an old Duncan Teacher kiln that I got off Craiglist years ago, and I'm considering upgrading to a new electric kiln. 

This feels like a huge commitment. I love making pottery but I'm still new and have a LOT to learn, so I'm nervous about taking the plunge. My questions for the group are:

1. What are some ways that you recommend improving my skills (I live in a remote area and don't have access to classes)?

2. I know I should be cutting cross sections of my pieces to see how I'm doing on the thickness, but I can't stand to do it. Every piece feels so precious and I feel like I'm wasting clay. Is it possible to reuse this clay? 

3. Sometimes things go smoothly and I feel like I'm making progress. And then there are times when I have trouble just centering the clay and I have no idea why. I realize there may not be a single answer to this question, but how much practice does it take to feel like you're in control of the process? 

4. Is there anything I can do with the excess clay that builds up--the scraps that end up in a bucket and in the splash pan? If not, what's the best way to dispose of it?

5. We're on septic. Should I be concerned about clay getting into the septic system? If I rinse clay off outside, should I be concerned about clay going into the ground? Currently, I'm cleaning up most of the clay in a wash tub outside that just drains out onto the ground, and then washing my hands in a real sink that goes into the septic tank. 

Thank you all for these forums. I learn a lot and enjoy reading what everyone has to say.

Madena

1. Practice, lots of it.