Hello! 

I’m gearing up for a big outdoor craft show in a few weeks and the exhibitors packet said “no ez up tents” due to the venue being windy. This is my first time doing this show so I’m not sure what to do! I don’t own a canopy like a light dome or trim line, and I’m not sure if I’m ready to invest that much, and renting one will cost almost half the price of buying one!

Anyone have any advice?? Will a good quality pop up probably be ok with proper weights? Or do I bite the bullet and buy the light dome? 

Thanks! 

Hi, MAS, and welcome to the Forum...

Since the event organizer says no EZ-up tents because of wind, I'm wondering why they would allow any other type of canopy...I say this because I only have experience with EZ-ups. I would imagine that any canopy in windy conditions run the risk of becoming airborne. That said, do you even need a canopy? Can you define your space with your display shelving and/or tables?

Hopefully some of the forum members who have more experience with this type of venue will have more input...

JohnnyK

In windy condition, the high end tents (Lite Dome, Trimline) can become kites too. But overall they are reliably sturdy whereas pop up tents are made by many different manufacturers and come in a wide range of quality. Every tent needs proper weights to avoid becoming a kite. But cheap tents can still twist and crumple even when properly weighted. 

Should you buy a high end tent now? If you are having good success at art fairs, and feel commited to doing them regularly for many years, then yes. If you are still not sure about that, then rent it this time and keep working towards discovering whether you want to do this long term.