Advice For Planning A Life/career In Clay

Hello and thank you for your time.

To begin, I'm currently a student at a community collage or for many of you 'junior college' somewhere in the US. But I am quickly reaching the end of my time there in the 'shallows' of my higher education and so must declare a major then transfer to a 4 year college. My problem stands not in my devotion to learning ceramics but my parents attitude towards the whole Bfa. They think, both having extremely practical rolleyes.gif careers Civil Engineer and Tech. Writer, this path leads without a doubt to my destitution and a painful life of a failed artist.

Now, to be clear---- I am not planning on a cake walk to my first million dollars as potter/ceramist but I can not resign myself to a life of waking to a dismal florescent-lit existence pigeon-holed behind a desk with my greatest professional hope being if the office repeals it's no live plants rules when it comes to our cubical rights.

So, my question for you all is- What do you suggest to a young person desirous of becoming a potter/ceramist when he is drawing up his life plans?

I need

-Success stories

-routes in education

-ideas for professional development

-encouragement?

I know I am not alone in my need, this topic may help the new wave of mudlovers pass more successfully into the coming decades.

tongue.gif

Back in the day, my parents also refused to fund my art college dream so I ended up getting

a business education ... I got one year of advertising which was as close as I could get to art.

I worked in cubes for ten years ... did my art at night and on weekends.

I have been a full time studio potter for twenty years ... But, I also have a husband with the real

job with health insurance and retirement benefits. My studio is self supporting but realistically if I

were alone in this ... It would not be fun.

Full time self supporting potters work harder and keep longer hours than almost anyone else.