Solutions For Flaky Kiln Wash

I have been working with clay for many years but only firing my own stuff for about 4 years.  I have this recurring problem.  The kiln wash flakes off after every firing - bisque or glaze. (firing bisque at 04 and glaze at 6 in my electric Vulcan kiln) I am constantly cleaning shelves and it seems to be getting worse the more I use these shelves.  I have tried completely removing all the old wash and replaced it with new.  I have tried simply removing the stuff that is the loosest and then washing over it and the surrounding areas.  I've tried thick and thin applications. I am extremely careful with my shelves and do not allow any greasy or oily contamination.  I am using kiln wash that has been mixed for some time (??? years???).  I wouldn't think that's the problem, but maybe....  Anyone have some suggestions????

I agree with Chris.  I've run into the problem before, and it was because I mixed the wash/ applied it too thick.

Mix it to the consistency, that Chris suggested, and apply three thin coats.  I alternate the direction of each coat, the first horizontal, then vertical, then horizontal, but I won't say that it's necessary, just my preference. 

If the formula is high in kaolin, like over 20%, you'll need to calcine some of the kaolin. I would leave 10% normal, to help keep the wash suspended in the bucket and make application smoother. To calcine, just put a bunch of kaolin in a bowl and run it through a bisque. Kaolin shrinks when fired, and that's what makes it flake off. By calcining, you pre-shrink it.

Looks like Jeff Campana uses the same recipe

Mine is 

by wieght

50% alumina

25% calcined EPK-(which is called glomax I'm told)-I always make my own

25% EPK

I applied this with a roller-two coats

This was is easy to remove .

Jeff's is a darvon/ thinner mixture-as my shelves are all flat as a ruler (advancers) I do not bother with this step.

Mark