Seeking recommendations

Greetings, everyone. Firstly, I'd like to mention that I'm quite new to this, so I appreciate your understanding if my questions seem basic. I'm eager to delve into pottery as a hobby, especially creating items like plates, mugs, and ring holders during my ample free time. However, I currently lack access to a kiln. I'm seeking recommendations on this matter. I do have an oven, and I'm curious if it can be utilized for pottery. If so, I'd also appreciate guidance on which type of clay would be suitable for this purpose.

Hi HenryCalvin, Welcome to the Forum!

Ceramic clay is typically divided into categories by firing temperature.
The lowest firing clays (low fire, earthenware) require 1500°F or more, which glows orange red (very hot!).

Options for working at lower temperatures and/or no heat work required, I'm not familiar with.
While waiting on more feedback, look into "air dry" clay - there are several.
Here's an article discussing some of the options: The Best Air Dry Clays for Artists | Susie Benes

To get started I would enroll in a studio ceramic's  class,  this will give you the basic knowledge and you can decide if this is a area you want to pursue.   I decided to take a stone carving class,  after a solid day of chipping I decided I had enough of stone carving.    I  managed to finish my piece,  it made a nice door stop.     Denice

it is true, henry, that the appeal can wear off once a person starts actually working on something that has so many steps that cause serious frustration when something fails.    your oven, even on 'self clean' is nowhere near the amount of heat needed to go from clay to ceramic.   

i have introduced 2 people to making items to be used.   one decided she was not in love with making and should be spending money on acquiring beautiful pieces made by others.   the second realized that she hated handling wet clay and washed her hands several times before she left.  " looks like fun, but i hate the ooze."