Drying+firing question - beginner in pottery....

Hello everyone,

This is my first post on this forum – I received as a gift a manual (but temperature-programmable) kiln with temperature up to 1832F that can fire a small art piece. 

I am total beginner but I read many articles about how necessary is drying and how it is not recommended to make thich pieces.

Well, my grandchildren made a small duck - please see photo with tape for reference in centimetres - it is however around 2" US inches thick (and about 4" US inches in length - simply small piece of art, nothing big)

We made it on Monday 19th , so now it has been 4 days of drying. We very love this our first own piece!!!! :wub:

1) Please what can I do for it not to make any explosion during the bisque fire? How long should it be drying - (please see photo = there is tape for reference in centimetres not inches)?

2) Would "candling" help? If so, how long and how to do it for this little present?

3) How to set temperatures for this manual kiln? And for how long to increase them or "hold" each phase?

I am user from Czech Republic, but my friends from the USA recommended me this forum. You would be very kind to give me any recommendation :) and I am sending best regards to you all over the ocean. :) Sorry for my English if some terminology is incorrect....

Jessica G.

WhatsApp Image 2023-06-22 at 22.57.32.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2023-06-22 at 22.57.33.jpeg

Congratulations on your new kiln and welcome!

If the piece feels cold against your cheek then it’s still drying. It won’t hurt to let it dry more, but you could hasten the process by candling. I fire lots of student work, just as thick as this, always candling for several hours (4-6 hours) before the kiln really starts to heat up. That will prevent explosions, getting all the water out