Skutt vs L&L Kilns

Hi all,

Im in the process of setting up a home studio and am trying to decide on an electric kiln to purchase but am stuck between L&Ls and Skutts. I have some experience firing electric kilns from when I was an undergrad student and I believe the kilns the studio had were L&Ls-which I liked just fine. From what i've gathered it seems like some potters really like L&L kilns, however I see A LOT of Skutt kilns being used. Im at a bit of a lose and am curious what others would say in regards to pros and cons of both. Whichever one i go with I do plan on getting the 3'' brick option. 

To me the pros of the L&L kiln are the covered thermocouples, the hard element holders, and the toggle switch. The pros of the Skutts are the touchscreen with app ( for monitoring a firing- aka peace of mind), the lid lifter, and from what i can tell it seems like the sections of the kiln snap together so potentially less heat would be let out. The kiln will be going in a 12x12 space and while i plan to open windows while the kiln is firing and will definitely be getting a vent for it, Im still slightly concerned about really heating up the room. 

Thanks in advance for any insight!

I find both to be decent and have produced kilns for many years. So IMO it’s a matter of comparing features and pricing. There are loyal followers of each brand but to me they are all constructed very similarly. From price and features I move on to look at watts per internal square inch and a manufacture gets extra attention for additional insulation, and maybe a good stabile lid design.

I've fitted my (rather ancient) seven cubic foot capacity kiln with a kiln vent, which helped quite a bit with the fumes (and firing results as well), however, there were still fumes, and a lot of heat.

From there, we put together an overhead system, using repurposed hood from a propane patio heater, six inch ducting (no longer in use) from under the house, and a 400 CFM fan.