knuckle blister/callus

Does anyone get bumps, calluses or blisters on the knuckle of throwing hand? I guess I must drag my knuckle on the bat as I am centering. Never noticed it hurting. I have been throwing for 20 years, but this has only been happening in the last year.  Anyone have any ideas to treat to prevent this? Maybe just getting old? I am 66, but I heard the 60's are the new 40's.  Stopping my work on the wheel is not going to happen.

All finger joints are larger and arthritic -lumby finger joints -45 years of heavy pottery work-so yes I'm 67 and been into clay since 18 full time since 76-hands are shot. I get cramps in fingers where they just will not work.No blisters

In terms of a contact I occansionally drag a finger on bat while trimming a 40 bowls for example and my skin getts thin maybe bleeds. I tend to do this in cycles -I'm aware and stop it I space it and och. 

Sure no skin for fingerprints (no I phone print on and off-passwords only)

Dry finger tips that bleed-usually always -I use suoper glue to glue them and it works great. get the locktite brand as it keeps for a year and does not dry out.

I used to get raw fingers but now aboutr 1/2 time use a really beater (3 inch round sponge) to make the contact with the clay on the inside.

Porcelain shows the blood so much better than stoneware.

14 hours ago, liambesaw said:

I try to just keep my hands covered in clay as much as possible 

*Imagines a person walking around in public, opening doors getting groceries, with hands coated in clay*

I rarely get blisters or anything of the like anymore.  The clay I use is relatively smooth.  Like others have said, my hands will get dry and crack, especially in the Winter months.  To avoid this, I just rinse my hands with water, not wash with soap, until I am DONE, done for the day, and use lotion before I start, part way through, and when I am done.