Cannot decide which kiln to buy!

ekua

Hi there,

I've been a member for quite a while but this is my first time posting.

Up until recently I was in a communal studio but I am more than likely getting my own space in July.

I've been shopping around for kilns but I'm having a hard time making up my mind. 

First of all I'm not sure if I should get a L&L or a Skutt (I will be buying it brand new).

Secondly I'm having a hard time decided on the size. I'm not the tallest person and also have some lower back problems occasionally so I was thinking of getting a short model (Skutt KMT 1022 or 1218, or L&L e28s). Mostly looking for a kiln between 7-8 cubic feet as I will be doing a lot of production. My question with the wider shorter kilns, does it have a harder time reaching temperature due to the width?

Also is it worth it getting the 3" brick? I will be firing to cone 5.

I've only worked with a Skutt KM1027 which I like a lot but I'm afraid the height might bother me in the long run.

And one last questions regarding the touchscreen, I really like the way the Skutt KMT's look and I'm unsure about the Genesis Touchscreen Controller.

Thanks in advance for any opinions or experiences!

Ekua

@ekua I'm going to give you some info on sizes and such, but stay out of the discussion on which is 'better'.