Small loads in Kiln

I am new to owning a kiln. I have enough work to fire my first bisque, and am just waiting for a few more pieces to dry enough. My question is, do any of you ever fire your kiln less than full? I would love to run some smaller tests, but I hear it's not a good practice. Would love to hear what others think.

You can, just keep in mind you're wasting electricity or fuel, putting the same wear on the elements as a full load.  And the kiln may not fire as evenly.  But I totally understand wanting to try out your new kiln and the excitement that comes along with that!  I don't think a cheat once in a while will hurt anything :)

If you have to do it, cluster your work near the thermocouple or the kiln sitter.  For instance if the thermocouple is roughly in the middle of the kiln, leave the bottom and the top shelves empty and fill the middle shelf. That way the sensor and the work are all getting the same amount of heat.  It’s what I do for my decal fires.

I'm still working on culling green ware before firing. There's enough for a bisque load now; am expecting to toss about at least every third to reclaim, if not more. As for dry enough, if close to dry, I'm loading 'em up, as I'm ramping up to 200F the night before and leaving the vent running - plenty dry by next morning.

11 minutes ago, Callie Beller Diesel said:

If you have to do it, cluster your work near the thermocouple or the kiln sitter.  For instance if the thermocouple is roughly in the middle of the kiln, leave the bottom and the top shelves empty and fill the middle shelf. That way the sensor and the work are all getting the same amount of heat.  It’s what I do for my decal fires.

If you have a kiln sitter or single thermocouple this can work. If you have a kiln with multiple zones/thermocouples, or you have more work than you can cluster in a small area, then spread it out evenly throughout the kiln.

2 hours ago, Claybottress said: