using out of date pills in glaze

NancyE

Hello, I am new to the forum and I already see answers to many questions I have been pondering.  I have been an amateur potter for many years, and now as I am reaching retirement I want to work more seriously on my skills.  I also like to experiment.  I have access to boxes of out of date medications, and currently have thousands of iron tablets, and potassium tablets I thought might be fun to play with in glazing.  Has anyone else ever done this or knows of anyone who has.

Welcome to the forum Nancy...I would guess that, like Callie says, the amount of iron or potassium in the pills would be inconsequential when it came to the glazes. The problem that I would see is the amount and composition of the fillers that are used to make the pills...

Go for it! Nothing hurt by testing them. I'ld weigh out X grams of them and slake them down in water then add that to your glaze water. (keep track of weights so you can replicate something if it turns out) I could see the iron being more useful in a glaze than the potassium pills. The iron might be so fine a grade that it might not speckle in a glaze, the potassium will be adding a flux so depending on how much you add it will increase the chance of both crazing and running. Organic fillers will burn out.

Iron pills are ferrous sulfate, you can see the wiki here: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Iron(II)_sulfate

They decompose into sulfur and iron at 572f, but at 65-300mg per pill you're going to end up with a very small amount of iron.  The cool thing is that ferrous sulfate is green, and so are glazes low in iron, so maybe you'll end up with a glaze with a slightly green tinge!

The bad part is that since they are a sulfate they'll release some pesky gas in firing.