Cress Electric Kiln Plunger won’t stay plunged

ChelseaRae

Hi everyone, 

Thanks in advance for your help! I am having some issues with a cress kiln FX 27-P.  I am new to operating a kiln and have only successfully fired 1x to cone 04.  I had no issues with the timer, kiln sitter, thumbwheel (rotated to different numbers throughout firing), and maintained  power to the kiln for entire firing.  I read the entire manual and follow instructions on kiln when programming settings.  

In my second firing- set kiln to 12 hour timer, cone 6 bar in kiln sitter, set it on slowest firing setting.   Walked away from the kiln for maybe 2 hours- when I walked away it was on.  I came back and it was off, set it again, same settings, it turned itself off within 30 minutes.  Set it again, this time for a normal firing speed, it turned off.  

The plunger will stay plunged for a time limited period on its own.  The kiln will stay on if use my finger to keep the plunger, plunged.  No obvious issues inside kiln- kiln sitter bar has not been moved out of position or bent. 

Please help! Cress is not open until next week, same thing with local ceramics stores. 

Thanks again, 

Chelsea 

So the kiln is turning off because the plunger button is popping out, as if the timer had reached zero? I'm wondering if the knob on your sitter timer somehow isn't in the correct position. I'm not 100% sure that's possible, because I think there's a flat side on the shaft the prevents that from happening. Does the plunger pop out when you manually turn the timer knob to zero?