Bisquing and glazing a bottomless item

Anax

Hi all,

New here and first post. I am also very new to working with clay but have been really enjoying it and ready to learn more.

I have constructed a clay Udu drum, it's like a vase with a curved bottom and a hole in the side. I haven't bisqued it yet and am looking for advice how I might glaze after bisquing so that I can achieve full coverage.

I have attached a photo for you. Please let me know what other information I can provide to help getting a better answer.

Would tripod stilts be sufficient?

Looking forward to participating in this forum!

IMG_20190621_150933_726.jpg.2990cd0fec6c07e9b07746fd5267a6bd.jpg

Hi Bill,

Thanks for the suggestion.  I also considered this but decided against it for several reasons including a. aesthetics, b. acoustics and c. player comfort.

Essentially I'm looking for tips that deal with the drum as shown and described. I will keep your advice in mind for future iterations.

Sorry, the drums I have seen all have bottoms are hand made and often pit fired. If yours is bottomless can you just wipe the glaze from the bottom edge? Maybe I am just unclear what the glaze issue is. If you have a bottom but no foot then maybe don’t glaze, finish the bottom later with urethane or acrylic ......

Just some thoughts

Let's take it from a different angle, Bill. This drum is bottomless. I want to know if there is a way to glaze the entire surface, there is no such bottom edge to wipe glaze away from. I want 100% coverage.

Think of a ball with a neck opening and a hole in it's side.

5 minutes ago, Anax said:

Let's take it from a different angle, Bill. This drum is bottomless. I want to know if there is a way to glaze the entire surface, there is no such bottom edge to wipe glaze away from. I want 100% coverage.