Joining a bowl and pedestal

I'm a relative newbie - been at the wheel for about a year. Have spent most of my time at the wheel practicing forms.

Last week I tried something different - threw a bowl and then a separate pedestal which is essentially a small bowl itself. I let them get to leather hard, trimmed, then scored the bottoms and joined the 2 pieces together with slip.  Cleaned the connected area a bit today by trimming off the rough leftover slip. But I noticed that I didn't completely fill the gap in a spot where the two edges meet. The piece is now bone dry. Can I add a bit more slip the the gap and smooth it out before bisque firing? Will it stay in place or just crumble off since it's a bone dry piece?

All guidance welcome.

- Jeff

Good question!

If the gap is small enough to bridge with glaze, an opaque glaze would, err, may hide it.

You might try misting the area with water (spray bottles are an essential!), just a little bit, for too much with melt your work, wait a while, mist a bit more ...until the area is damp enough to accept some slip. If you really like the piece, try it out on some scrap stuff first.

Paper clay, sounds good.

2 minutes ago, Hulk said:

Good question!

If the gap is small enough to bridge with glaze, an opaque glaze would, err, may hide it.

You might try misting the area with water (spray bottles are an essential!), just a little bit, for too much with melt your work, wait a while, mist a bit more ...until the area is damp enough to accept some slip. If you really like the piece, try it out on some scrap stuff first.

Paper clay, sounds good.

Top both Liam and Hulk - thanks for the suggestion of paper clay. Not sure I need that much of an aggressive repair.

The gap itself is only about 1/16" inch (.159cm) and is right where the two pieces join.  I though also that the glaze may fill/cover it.
Then I began to second-guess it. This is how obsessive I can get. :)