Pugmill question

I took pottery in college as a hobby while completing my degree.  I loved it so much that I have slowly been trying to put together a home studio.  I would like to get a pug mill/mixer so that I can mix my clay from scratch (dry components), reclaim used clay, and use the de-airing features to save time and work.  I am looking into the Peter Puggers, specifically the VPM-9SS and the VPM-20.  Is the stainless steal worth the extra money (in the case of these two it would be $100 extra) and a smaller hopper?  Or should I go for the bigger hopper and $100 cheaper with the VPM-20.  

Though I have thrown on a wheel and sculpted for years I am somewhat new to this piece of equipment and any information would be appreciated!! 

• Replies 80
  • Created
  • Last Reply

welcome to the forum!   you will find all kinds of good info on this site.   the question is not about the money, though it is a consideration, it is about the kind of clay you use.   if you want to use totally absolutely white clay, go for the stainless.   if you never intend to use anything but dark clay, you do not need it.   if you think that maybe, someday you would like to use white porcelain or stoneware or earthenware, go for the stainless.    you do not want rust in your claybody.

btw,  could you please edit your question to be something like "pug mill question" so it can be found later by someone looking for an answer to a question about pugmills?   mentioning the specific pugmill is good, too.