Black Pottery Without Terra Sigillata?

Hi all,

First post. I'm searching for some insight into black firing. Let me preface by saying I have been using a really simple black firing technique for about 5 years with great results. It involves wrapping a polished terra sigillata pot (that has been bisqued at ^010) in newspaper and then sealing everything up in an aluminum foil "pouch". The piece is fired at ^021 in an electric kiln, which is just hot enough to burn up the newspaper but not damage the foil. The newspaper carbonizes and leaves the pot with a jet black color. I use 04-06 white earthenware and a white commercial terra sig.

I'd like to achieve the same smoke black color in my ware but without the use of terra sigillata or even burnishing. I have seen many pieces of black pottery that are not polished/burnished and I'm wondering if anyone can tell me how this is done? I have tried using the aforementioned technique on non-terra sig/non-burnished pots but all it does is give the pot a "dirty" look, like someone burried it in dirt and dug it back up.

Any help is appreciated!

Spencer

Hi Spencer,

Here is a little black pot I did about three years ago. I don't know if it's black enough for you, or if it has the "dirty" color that you refer to, but it was easy to do.

I just fired it in my raku kiln to about 1600 F, then pulled it and did a hard reduction in a can with newspaper.

It is a cone 6 white stoneware, bisqued to 04, not burnished or anything. You can see some of the newspaper marks on it from the reduction, but they are a little more apparent in the pic than in person. I just did it to see what would happen, and it turned out pretty well for me.

gallery_5042_241_183151.jpg