Kiln Temp Too High...Even At Lowest Setting?

I just bought an old manual kiln (SNO Industries, 15"x15" inside, kiln sitter), and it seems to work well. Perhaps too well. I bisque fired a single pot as a test (2hrs low, 2hrs medium, high until 05 cone bent), and the pot broke during the firing. On a hunch, I used an oven thermometer to check the internal temp with the dial set to the lowest temp, and it said 400f. Isn't that too high for the lowest setting? I'm assuming that the lowest temp should be lower than 212, to allow water to leave the pots without breaking/exploding? I'm new to this, so any advice is appreciated.

Yes you are correct. Anyway that you can slowly warm things up and keep them  about 200 degrees is ideal. Automatic kiln controllers allow a preheat cycle which is a slow ramp up to about 200 then hold  at or under  for as long as the user specifies. Folks with manual kilns often turn their bottom elements on low and crack the kiln lid several inches to let out the steam and keep the overall temperature from increasing. So two hours low with the lid cracked  might be the ticket. You have the correct idea so now you will be able to figure a combination that gets you there.

in a pinch I have even microwaved a piece or two five  seconds at a time checking it at each cycle  until all the water was gone and making sure it never got too hot. A bit desperate, but you get the idea, anyway to slowly get the water out is just fine.

Thanks for the reply. I did have the lid cracked about 3 inches during the low and medium part of the fire...perhaps I should try again with the lid opened more. Is there anything wrong with doing the candleing with the lid all the way open? I have to shave off some major degrees.

23 minutes ago, ghetto3jon said:

The test pot that blew up was thrown in 2015...so it was about as dry as it was going to get.