Strange Raised Bumps On Plates - Help

I am hoping someone can shed light on this strange trouble I found in this monring's glaze kiln run.  I threw small plates of stoneware (IMCO 1C) which were bisqued to cone 04 and then sat in a box for about 11 months. I washed them gently with a damp sponge and allowed them to dry in dappled sunlight for about an hour. Then brushed on 2-3 coats of various commercial glazes. Most come out wonderfully. Two developed the strangest raised welts (largest is about 2 inches long by 0.5 inches wide) I've ever seen. These are NOT blisters in the glaze. They appear to be like balloons which have inflated within the clay warping the inside bottom of the plates around where the flat bottom transitions to the angeled rim.  The glaze over these ballons appears to have a tiny separation exposing a thin line of clay, but is otherwise undisturbed. I've been throwing plates of all sizes for two years; this is the first I've seen such a thing.  Any insight is welcome. Thank you.

Hi Sakura,

I'm with Pres. Sounds like bloating to me. I've been dealing with this issue off-and-on for about a year with a few different clay bodies... I was actually greeted by some heavily bloated pots this morning when I arrived to the studio. First time in a while. :(

Are you venting during the bisque? I believe the source of my clay's bloating issues is linked to a lack of offgassing during the bisque. How fast is your bisque program? Moving very slowly up to 1600F has helped significantly. And leaving the top peep open.

As Pres mentioned, overfiring can be a culprit of bloating as well.

Good luck!

Chris

Hi Pres and Chris and Marcia.  Many thanks for your insights.  I found the camera, and attempted to upload photos.  Okay, I don't know how to upload photos to this forum. I tried including them from Word and got an error message. Could you please instruct me on how I can include the photos?