Cobalt carbonate majolica technique troubleshooting

Hundy

Hello!

I've been wanting to recreate the Portuguese Azulejos blue tile technique and have hit a brick wall in terms of my test tiles.  The results are blotchy and somewhat faded with diffused rather than sharp edges, almost like how tattoos are after years of sun damage. I am new to this in general, so I'm hoping someone could tell me where I might be going wrong. I have had a look at the other threads related to this and saw some sage advice for the OPs. 

Steps taken:

I made some tiles using B17C Stoneware clay from Bath Potters Supplies . The studio then did a bisque fire.

I then dip-glazed them with Stoneware Shiny White BP22P powder glaze and let it dry 24 hours. 

I then painted some designs with Cobalt carbonate powder mixed with water on the first test tile and added some gum arabic to the pigment mix on the second decorative test tile(I had seen a ceramicist recommend this addition in a YouTube video).  I tried 3 different ratios of cobalt carbonate with water; 1:3, 1:6 and 1:10 to have dark, medium and light hues.

The studio fired it for me at 1260° c according to the underglaze label instructions. Finally, the reason I'm doing it this way was following the methodology of an online course. 

Thank you.

Pictures:

Test 1: Only cobalt carbonate and water in varying ratios

test 1 resize.jpg

Test 2: Cobalt carbonate and a drop of gum arabica to the pigment mix.

test 2 raw.jpg

test 2.jpg

Edited by Hundy
typo

Thanks Mark. Interesting, what ratios do you recommend? I've seen your fantastic work in other threads using cobalt pencil and also via brush, so you've obviously cracked the code a long time ago.