Clear Glaze Application

Katie S

I’m still new to the ceramics process, I only started throwing early this year and am finally starting to work on glazing. One thing I’m uncertain on is clear glaze (brush) application.

How many coats do I need to do if I’m applying clear directly to bisqueware? 

If applying on top of other colored glazes, do I need to do multiple coats?

Thank you all for helping me learn!

The maddening answer to just about everything in glazing is “it depends.”

IF it’s available to you, clear glazes are usually much easier to apply thinly and evenly via dipping. If it’s not, then brush away. 

If you’re mixing 2 glazes, this can often result in special effects that are partially due to running. When starting out you might only want to apply 3 layers in total, however you want to divide it out. Usually you don’t need a clear glaze over other glazes, unless you’re hoping it’ll do something interesting. If that is what you’re going for, make sure you have a waster or a cookie under your piece to catch any drips. Cleaning kiln shelves is not fun!

Learning how to apply glaze is another skill that takes experimentation and practice to get the hang of, and it’s a good idea to do some test tiles before you start glazing your favourite piece. Recommendations on the label should be considered starting points. Your idea of a thick coat and someone else’s might not be the same thing, and you have to play around with it a bit to find your sweet spot. 

Generally clear glazes want a thinner application than other things for best results. An overly thick clear glaze will go a bit cloudy. This effect is more noticeable on dark clay or underglazes than it is on lighter coloured things. 

On 9/8/2023 at 3:00 AM, Katie S said:

How many coats do I need to do if I’m applying clear directly to bisqueware?