Home studio set up

Hi everyone! So I have taken a couple ceramics classes and am in love with the craft. I am an illustrator who works digital so it’s such a nice change of pace and gives me a break from the computer. Anyways, I really want to set up a small studio in my basement to keep practicing throwing..so what I’m curious is what all should I look into for a basement space? I’m not interested in a kiln right away since I’m still just trying to nail down wheel throwing and I can always take pieces to a local place to fire if needed. 

Hi Lindsay, welcome to the forum. 

I understand your interest here, as I was a HS teacher who taught mostly Ceramics classes. However, in the mid 80's a music colleague of mine and I wrote a grant to put in a computer studio for the arts in the school. I started teaching computer graphics courses with an emphasis on animation, 2D and 3D. Retired in 2009, I still fiddle with Corel Draw, Blender and several other graphics programs. Natural transition for me as they(ceramics, and CGI) are often the same beast. . . 3D.

As to a studio, you are on the right track, if you are interested in throwing, but you may want to get yourself a solid work area to try some handbuilding on.

best,

Pres

5 hours ago, LindsayScott said:

so what I’m curious is what all should I look into for a basement space? I’m not interested in a kiln right away since I’m still just trying to nail down wheel throwing and I can always take pieces to a local place to fire if needed.