Clay Recycling Advice Sought

Hi

I am new to both pottery and this forum.

I have just started throwing and am teaching myself from home, which happens to be a not very large boat so  I am trying to secure a studio space. Whilst I wait for that to become established I have been saving my waste clay to recycle when I eventually get some studio space. I have kept greenware and trimmings separate and dry in a small bucket and any wet waste clay I have stored in water in another bucket with a lid. This is where my questions come in

1). yesterday I noticed that the wet waste clay has started to develop a small layer of algae (I stupidly kept it on the deck and the buckets lid is white), I guess that means I should now discard it. Or does it?

2). Is there a maximum amount of time that waste clay should be left to slake? Aside from the risk of algae (!!!) will it end up too gummy if it sits in water for what is now coming up for a couple of months. If so, is there another way to store it til I get my plaster slab, just in an old airtight clay bag for example.

many thanks for any help

I just did this myself a few days ago - forgot and put some still moist clay to slake in a bucket.  What I SHOULD have done was let it dry out completely, THEN slake it.  Or in your case I would suggest cutting it into thinnish slabs, letting it dry, breaking it up a bit if necessary and then putting it in with your other dry clay (trimmings I guess)?

Dry clay scraps slake a lot faster and more thoroughly than wet.  I knew this but forgot anyway LOL!

I don't know about the algae, I'll let others comment on that.  Potters typically don't care much about moldy smelling clay but algae?  Not sure.