Bisque ware has discolouration in the middle.

Jeanetta

Hi!

just opened my cone 06 bisqueload and I noticed that some of my plates have discolouration in the middle.

I stacked them about four on top of each other in the firing.

this is my first year firing my own Pottery (electric Kiln skutt 1027) and my first time ever firing plates. Other possible barriers are it’s also my first time using my new kiln vent and as well it’s quite cold :about -5 Celsius outside air

is my suspicion that stacking these on top of each other caused the discolouration?

does this white patch mean it’s under fired? Does anyone think this will cause troubles in the glazing stage or that or that these pieces won’t be functional in the end?

many thanks for any thoughts 

B8E92A52-4AB7-4CB1-BDF8-6ED4244D4B10.jpeg

tightly packed STONEWARE will take more time to burn off impurites. Stoneware has more junk in it than say porcelain. I think you will be fine in a glaze fire but lets see what the cone 6 folks say. I'm a cone 10 porcealin potter.I used to fire huge amounts of stone ware in the 70s and 80s and had zero issues at cone 06 bisque temps but cone 6 seems to be more fickle in may ways.

What color is the bone dry greenware? Did you use witness cones and how did they turn out? Did ALL the plates come out with the spot? I don't have any experience firing plates. Nor do I use a vent. I would guess that the tight packing of the plates and the cold vent air might keep the plates from outgassing properly, thus leaving the spots in the middle of the plates. If it was me, I would refire the plates without the vent operating and see what happens.

8 hours ago, Jeanetta said:

Other possible barriers are it’s also my first time using my new kiln vent and as well it’s quite cold :about -5 Celsius outside air