"happy accident" vs precise calculation

Hello,

Recently I fired small-scale figurative stoneware in a wood-fired kiln adding soda for flashing effects. I’ve been trying to find a surface treatment for some time and think it’s somewhere in wood firing. This was my first soda firing and I used too much which resulted in very little flashing but carbonization and a runny translucent green glaze. After looking at these for a couple weeks I’m much happier with what I got than the one “successful” piece with pronounced flashing. I’m fine with “happy accidents” but am unsure how it’s viewed in the ceramics world. I majored in printmaking at university and my printmaking professor said anyone can accidently create a “one off” print they’re happy with. It’s only credible if you reproduce it as the desired outcome. Prints were to only be made on 100% acid free, cotton rag paper. There were few other “commandments” I don’t recall now.

At this point I’m not sure if I have a question or just want opinions. My hope is to reproduce these effects (carbonization and runny soda) in the next firing, but is that seen as sloppy firing in the ceramics world? I hope to eventually show these pieces somewhere and my experience with the art world is some go to great lengths to be “exclusive” and others “inclusive”.

I’ve been trying to create my own studio and working in a bubble the last few years and I recently started using this platform for input. Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely, Anthony

FIGURATIVE | Mysite (awaynestudio.com) 

I don't think there's any rules.  You might wear out your kiln faster if you're gonna be dumping a bunch of soda into each firing, but it's not a sin.

As far as happy accidents go... From what I can tell, the entire point of wood firing is to have an entire kiln of happy accidents. If you don't want happy accidents, use an electric or gas kiln and things can be a whole lot more predictable.