Adding broken ceramics to fresh clay?

Hello,

Ive been collecting broken old ceramic pieces from a local stream and I wanted to incorporate these into new vessels. I wanted to do an almost mosaic effect but pressed into the walls of the vessel. However I know that shrinkage will be a big issue? I’m using an earthenware grog . Any tips on joining old ceramics pieces to fresh clay?? I’m very new to ceramics so know very little - as is evident. Many thanks for any advice! 

Depends on how you want them displayed I guess. You can melt their glaze to stick, or melt something lower temp on your clay and stick them with that.

I'd love to see the shards juuuuust melted, that would be dope.

I find some old Buffalo Pottery from 1912 in a campsite by my River.

Sorce

On 1/30/2021 at 10:56 AM, scramble said:

However I know that shrinkage will be a big issue? I’m using an earthenware grog . Any tips on joining old ceramics pieces to fresh clay??

You are right that the shrinkage will be a big issue. The fired ceramics is going to constrict how the raw clay shrinks and in all likelihood will crack to relieve the stresses. Perhaps you could make a platter or large tile form with earthenware, fire and glaze that then use some of your found old ceramics pieces to do a mosaic in the center of it. (decorative use only) Glazes can change appearance significantly if fired to a higher or lower temperature than originally so there is that aspect to it too.

23 hours ago, Min said:

Glazes can change appearance significantly if fired to a higher or lower temperature than originally so there is that aspect to it too.

This would worry me.

Also, mixing clay and glazes is a recipe for disaster.  My best suggestion would be to mix and match old and new as mosaic, not firing them together.

• 2 weeks later...

UPDATE: 

Here’s my piece I made in the end. I’m still finishing a vessel with a more mosaicy feel to it.