Kiln Question and Appraisal

Scott.lee

Hi there,

I'm finally at the stage in my pottery journey where I think buying a kiln would be a worthwhile investment. I've been scouring the internet for several months with no success until I got an offer to buy an old kiln: Skutt Model C181 with all the furniture and other accessories. I already went to check it out in person and the condition was fairly good considering that it was 30 year old kiln but he was asking for $950 CAD which I brought down to $700 CAD. I don't mind buying a used kiln to learn more about firing and glazing but I also don't want to overpay for it. I live in Canada so there's not a lot of pottery equipment for sale but I am willing to pass on this if it's a bad deal.

Here are the images from the seller down below:

Thank you so much for all your help :D

image0-min.jpeg

image1 2-min.jpeg

image1-min.jpeg

image2-min.jpeg

image3-min.jpeg

image4-min.jpeg

image5-min.jpeg

image6-min.jpeg

@Scott.lee If you plan to fire to cone 6, don't buy it. It maxes out at cone 6, which means you'll only get to cone 6 if your elements are in perfect condition, which means you'll only get about 25-35 firings before they need to be changed. By contrast, a cone 10 kiln will go up to 150 firings on a set of elements. You want a kiln that can got to cone 8 minimum, cone 10 ideally.

The other issue with this kiln is that the Sitter doesn't have a backup timer, so it's not as safe as it could be in terms of shutting off when you want it to. And the control boxes on that model are narrower and the sitter is built differently than modern boxes so you can't just put in a new sitter without changing all 3 boxes.