Porcelain decorating slip

Discus

I am new to ceramics and can't seem to find any info on creating a strong white slip for decoration, not casting.Porcelain clay , I guess would be the optimum. If so how please? Powder ?...dried clay rewetted? Plus any additions? How would this work as far as compatability goes with stoneware clays? Also I would like to make an engobe white to use on bisque...any ideas please ?

Simon Leach uses a Porcelain/Custer mix for Hakeme. I tried to imitate it using 76g Standard 130 cone 10 and 24g Custer, it flakes off at cone 6 when thick, and thin it stays, but Dusty.

So don't try that!

Sorce

Hi Discus!

I'm using red and white slips on mid fire (cone 5/6) stoneware; am blunging up clay (Aardvark Clay SRF, red, and BMix, white) in a blender (add small bits!), aiming for a consistency that just turns in the blender, then running through a sieve. Both seem to work well; I'm applying after the piece has been trimmed. They both burn away somewhat in the glaze fire; had hopes for black slip, however, it comes out brown and causes problems.

Hi Hulk, Thanks for info...learning more by the hour...looked up Bmix and unfortunately doesn't fit the bill for me as it is described as a creamy white and I am looking for a pure as possible white. Will bear in mind mixing technique you use.