QotW: How do you deal with kiln electrical problems?

No new question in the QotW pool, so once again. . . Pres will pose one: How do you deal with kiln electrical problems? 

My biggest reason this is on my mind is that I am having problems of late with my kiln. First I had a fuse burn out, as the L & L uses two fuses for each section of the stacked kiln. Last few firings, bisque and glaze, have been out of timing (my fault). However, further investigation shows that the bottom switch is not cycling. So I assume that I will have to replace the switch for that level. This will mean an order to L & L for the switch, and while I'm at it, I will probably replace the blocks where wiring is connected. I know that many would have an electrician do this job, but since I have been using and working on kilns now for over 40 years, this fix is not a big problem. However, I believe it is a good discussion, so once again I will ask:

How do you deal with kiln electrical problems?

best,

Pres