Recycling Clay

Hello,

Im a self taught potter. Im starting out wheel throwing. Im progressing well but as I attempt new forms I end up with my entire piece of clay needing to be recycled. What Im currently doing it sticking my clay with my other failed clay and wrapping it up in plastic. My plan is to reuse it but Im not sure the best way to dry the wet clay out without drying it to far.  I only read about ways to recycle scraps. Any suggestions on how to recycle large pieces of failed clay?

Hi Travis!

Any failing/failed bits that are dryer than what I like to throw with go into scrap bin to fully dry and await recycle.

Failed blobs/lumps that are wetter than what I like to throw with may end up in the same bin, else dropped on a plaster bat - especially if sticky - or just left on the wedging board if not sticky.

Plaster absorbs water quickly! I'll knead that clay periodically, until ready for wedging, then re-throw when it feels about right. If I'm not around to monitor, I'll cover the clay, or just throw it in the recycle bin to dry out completely. A very wet blob could hang around for quite a while before getting too dry...

A rib or wood knife is handy for scraping sticky clay off one's hands and fingers.

Drying up smaller bits of wet clay (smaller than a bag - twenty five pounds) for reuse - about the same as the end of the recycle process. Crucial, imo, is thorough wedge, such that result is homogeneous, that is, no dryer or wetter threads of clay hiding in thar to wreck the next piece! If the blob gets a bit too dry, cutting into bread sized slices, misting, re-wedge, repeat... it's a bit of effort, but it does work. Still key is thorough wedge.

if you do not have much clay to work with, you may have bought only one or two boxes, it is important to keep track of the clay you want to reuse and do what hulk suggests.