Very New to Firing - Cone 06 snapped during firing

Elise

Hello all, forgive my green abilities regarding firing. I have been throwing for about 7 years and just bought my first kiln. I got a brief run down from the previous owner on how to operate it but again, I’m very new to firing. I would appreciate anyone taking mercy on me by offering some tips :)

The kiln is a L&L Econokiln with a kiln sitter attached.

I ran my first firing last night. The previous owner told me to turn the 3 gauges on the kiln sitter on “high” and to crack the cover for the first hour if my pottery has any moisture. This is what I did.

On first look this morning, the pottery on the top shelf looks like it all fired completely (uniform lighter color and there appears to be some shrinkage) but is there something I can test make sure it did in fact fire all the way? I’d hate to apply glaze and have everything explode in the second firing.

One thing I did notice right away that I am pretty sure isn’t ideal is that the cone I used (Cone 06) snapped in half instead of bending. What caused this and how do I prevent in the future?

Also, the previous owner said to fire with a plug in the peep hole, is that accurate?

TIA!

Welcome to the Forums!

In regards to getting rid of moisture, and making sure wares are dry, many potters will crack the lid, as you mentioned, but usually just run the bottom ring on low, not high.  This is known as "Candling" or "Water Smoking".  And this is usually over night, not just an hour.  One hour does not seem like enough time to drive out any remaining moisture. 

In regards, as to whether or not they fired correctly, yes, they should have probably changed color, at least a bit, and yes they should have shrunk a bit as well.  What kind of clay are you using, and what Cone are you firing to, for the final firing?